Bethlehem F’Ghajnsielem

Venue: Ta' Passi Fields Web: Visit Website Tel: +356 21561515 Email: [email protected]

  • Print
  • Share
  • Add to My Gozo
  • Sun, 9th Dec 2018 at 3:30pm to 7:30pm
  • Wed, 12th Dec 2018 at 9:30am to 12:00pm
  • Sat, 15th Dec 2018 at 4:30pm to 8:30pm
  • Sun, 16th Dec 2018 at 2:30pm to 7:30pm
  • Sat, 22nd Dec 2018 at 4:30pm to 8:30pm
  • Sun, 23rd Dec 2018 at 2:30pm to 7:30pm
  • Tue, 25th Dec 2018 at 3:30pm to 8:00pm
  • Wed, 26th Dec 2018 at 2:30pm to 7:30pm
  • Fri, 28th Dec 2018 at 4:30pm to 7:30pm
  • Sat, 29th Dec 2018 at 4:30pm to 7:30pm
  • Sun, 30th Dec 2018 at 2:30pm to 7:30pm
  • Tue, 1st Jan 2019 at 3:30pm to 8:00pm
  • Sun, 6th Jan 2019 at 2:00pm to 8:00pm

2018 is a milestone edition, the 10th since the first opening of the live crib at Ta’ Passi fields. It has been a long journey, with every edition offering new attractions to strengthen the reproduction of the greatest story ever told – The Story of Nativity. Bethlehem f’Għajnsielem has always managed to produce all the ingredients to offer a memorable experience where the Maltese folklore and traditions are intertwined with the Maltese crib.

Throughout these years, the event has also managed to attract international attention as a top 10 Worldwide Destination in Christmas. Once again, the main attractions include the carpenter and blacksmith’s dwellings, the bakery, an open-air market selling seasonal fruits, fish and a wide selection of vegetables, a local crafts area promoting traditional skills and folklore, a tavern, a farmhouse with panoramic roof, the room of scents and the Bethlehem Inn.

You can also embark on a dgħajsa (maltese boat) across the river. The “Castrum Romanum” will again host the Roman Garrison who will also be patrolling the streets of Bethlehem collecting taxes and taking the census as decreed by the Roman Empire. Several other reenactments and live events will also be taking place during the hours of animation. Children will have the opportunity to try several ‘hands-on’ tools while families can enjoy the unique surroundings of the Maltese countryside or try some local savory. Finally, your last stop and the highlight of this journey is the
Grotto where a poor unknown couple is tending their newly-born Baby Jesus with a donkey and a cow close by. Bethlehem f’Għajnsielem will be animated every Saturday, Sunday and during Public Holidays, with the main event occurring on Sunday, 6th January by the Arrival of the Three Kings.

For more information please visit www.ghajnsielem.com/bethlehem

Opening days & hours:

Sunday, 9th December 3:30pm – 7:30pm
Wednesday, 12th December* 9:30am – 12:00pm
Thursday, 13th December 2:30pm – 7:30pm
Saturday, 15th December 4:30pm – 8:30pm
Sunday, 16th December 2:30pm – 7:30pm
Saturday, 22nd December 4:30pm – 8:30pm
Sunday, 23rd December 2:30pm – 7:30pm
Tuesday, 25th December 3:30pm – 8:00pm
Wednesday, 26th December 2:30pm – 7:30pm
Friday, 28th December 4:30pm – 7:30pm
Saturday, 29th December 4:30pm – 8:30pm
Sunday, 30th December 2:30pm – 7:30pm
Tuesday, 1st January 3:30pm – 8:00pm
Saturday, 5th January** Magi Activity in Malta
Sunday, 6th January *** 2:00pm – 8:00pm